"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

The author concluded that honor codes should be used in universities to minimize the cheating among students. To support this argument the author has provide various evidences which at first sight seem to appear bolster the argument but meticulously otherwise. The author has made this conclusion based on the decline in cheating cases in groveton's university by using honor codes. But this evidence was not sufficient to support the author's conclusion due to following reasons;

Firstly, the author said that use of honor's code in groveton's university. He supported this by providing the data that in first year number of cheating cases were twenty and this figure reduced to fourteen five years later. However, the number of students on which survey was conducted not given which leads to the loss of authenticity of data. And it is not true that if one method has worked well in one university must also do the same in others because situations differ from one university to another. It may be plausible that number of students giving exams has decreased than number of cheating cases will automatically drop.

Secondly, he said that by using honor code students complain to the teachers about the students who are doing cheating. It is a totally biased process as it may be possible that students might complaint only about their competents and not about friends.And we are not sure that students compliant truely or not. Thus thus assumption making the conclusion weak.

Last but not the least, the author stated that students said that according to survey conducted by graveton honor council, students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. However the number of students on which survey was conducted not provided and it may be possible that students on which survey was conducted do not cheat. Moreover, the ethical and moral values of students differ, every student is not likely to keep the oath.

To sum up the author's conclusion based on totally fallacious premises, on the basis of which one cannot conclude that. In order to make the conclusion stronger the author should have to provide more verifiable data as such the number of students on which survey was conducted, decrease in the cheating case,etc which will bolster the argument.