Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

In this argument essay, authors state the issue related to the rush hour traffic on the blue highway. He claims that the traffic has doubled the commuting time for the commuters between the suburbs and the city. He suggests a solution of adding an additional lane for motorist’s lobby which Is then weaken by the opponents of the Green highway stating that; the same solution lead to traffic mess on the highway. This opponents come up with a proposal of adding a bicycle lane to blue highway as because many local are fond of bicycles. Thus reducing the rush hour traffic on the blue highway.

Firstly, the author states the rush hour traffic on the blue highway. For this the author fails to provide the sufficient information. The traffic on the blue highway might be because of the bad condition of the road. Also their might be possibility that the blue highway is surrounded by streets vendor leading a peoples rush on the highways causing traffic. The traffic may also be created because of the violation of the traffic rules ; such as disregarding the traffic signals, in appropriately changing the lane etc. In order to overcome the traffic author suggests a solution of widening the motorist’s lane on the blue highway. So before implementing this author must collect more statistics regarding the bikers. Such as what is the no. of bikers using the blue highway? How many bikers are using the highway during the peak time? If the no. of bikers is less than it would worthless of adding a motorist lane.

The author makes a counterpoint regarding the motorist lane by proving an evidence of the green highway. The green highway suffered a worsening of traffic after adopting the above stated proposal by the author; thus suggesting to add a bicyclist lane to reduce the traffic. As the proposal provided by the green highway worked for them , what is the possibility that it will also work for the blue highway. Green highway might be having a significant no. of bicyclists; thus adding an extra lane for them might helped them to lower the traffic. Also it might be possible that the workplace or offices of the people living nearby green highway is nearby their resident; thus enabling them to ride their bicycle to reach their destination. Though in order to implement this proposed solution the blue highway has to look forward for the above stated surveys. The green highway opponents states that the residents of blue highway are keen of bicycles. But this claim does completely fit to add an extra lane for bicyclist to reduce traffic. Even if the residents of blue highway are keen of bicycle, what if the food store or other daily required stores are far away , preventing them to make use of an alternative other than bicycle.

Finally, green highway exponents states that adding a motorist lane worsen their traffic. What if the added motorist lane if in adequate for the actual motorist using the green highway. Also are the motorist following the traffic rules. If the motorist are involved in rash driving which might lead to accidents more often thus creating traffic on green highways.

Thus the author needs to provide the above stated fallacy to strengthen his claims. He needs to provide sufficient information and current status of the blue highway to come up with an effective solution.