"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

In this argument essay the author states that a Jazz music club would make a vast profit. Supporting this claim he states that currently the only nearest club is 65 miles apart from the Monroe city and by opening a jazz club in Monroe would likely to attract the local market. Author provides an evidence that of about 100000 people attended the Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer and also jazz music is more popular in this city. In addition to this several well known jazz musicians live in Monroe. Thus the above stated assumptions by the author sums up to conclude that a jazz music club in Monroe is a profitable factor. But in order to conclude this there are some questions which needed to be answered.

Firstly, the author states that around 100000 people attended the Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer, but author fails to state whether the people belong to the same Monroe city or they were apart from the Monroe city. If a minimum no. of fans who attended the festival are from the different city then it is likely to go with author’s claim. Author needs to provide more evidence to support his claim that the jazz music is more popular in Monroe. It might be that the local population of the city Monroe are less likely to get incline towards the jazz music and more inclined towards another music genre.

Secondly, authors states that several well known jazz musician live in Monroe. It may be possible that these musicians are there because of some another reasons. Such as because of the better infrastructure of the city, convenient of the city to their workplace or it might be because of the suitable weather of the city. Author also provides a nation wide survey that on an average a jazz fan spends around $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. This claim is insufficient to conclude regarding a vast profit for a newly established club in Monroe. The study provided is a nation wide survey which fails to mention the expenditure particularly made by a local crowd of the Monroe city. What if the city is suffering from poverty? Are the local able to spend on an average 1000 on jazz club.

If we assume that a new jazz club is established in the city of Monroe which includes a lot of spending on infrastructure and various services for the onlookers; then in order to gain profit from the club it is necessary to first gain the expended cost which might take a particular period. And during this period, if a new music style becomes trending then it less likely to gain a profit for the jazz club. Claim concerned with the radio program aired every weekend is a bit doubted. As because there might be possibility that the people are just turning on the radios and busy in their own work. The here arises that how many of them are actually enjoying the jazz music air every weekend.

Thus the above stated fallacy weaken the authors claim. In order to come up for a solution author needs to overcome the above stated fallacies.