1) Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

In this issue essay the author asserts a claim of providing financial support by the government for the major cities in order to make improvement in the cities. The author supports this claim by stating that primarily cities are the one that preserve and generate the nation’s culture.

In general, finance is the most vital part for the well being of any thing; such as well being of cities, nation, school, colleges etc. As stated by the author the government must look forward for the financial support for the cities in order to ameliorate and preserve their culture. I partially agree with this claim. This is because major cities represents the nation globally. So it is essential to provide funding for them to preserve their infrastructure, cultures, tradition, etc. But here the question arise that is financial support is all needed to preserve the culture of the nation. Also are the funding provided to the major cities are used only for preserving the culture. For ex. If funds are made available for the cities and this funding are been expended on other matters other than preserving the culture then there is no use providing financial support for the cities. Also if the cities are undergoing corruption issues then it becomes trivial to provide finance.

What is necessary is along with providing finance its mandatory for the government to keep a track of the above stated fallacies. Providing financial support will definitely help the cities to explore their culture. It will enhance more opportunities for the cities to make possible the things which are incomplete without a financial support. With financial funding for culture preservation the cities can undertake different programs related to it and also the cities can organize cultural programs so that it can propagate throughout the world.

The second claim made by the author is that the cities are the major source of culture representing the nation. Not necessarily, the cities generates the nations culture. The rural areas or village might also be the source of a particular culture which then is adopted by the cities. So in this case providing for the cities will be a major drawback.

Finally , government should take care for the funds for the cities but along with this the government should also see to it that the funds are been used for the right purpose without corruption. Also not only the cities should be provided the fund but the every factor which are the sources or the one which represents the culture of the nation should be funded in order to preserve them.