Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

In this argument, the author claims that the companies profits, as well as the employee's morale, will be boosted if its new policy is applied. To bolster his standing, the author cites some pieces of evidence. Although the argument seems logical at first glance, it may provide with some unwarranted assumptions that need to be justified.

Firstly, the argument based on the reference that assumes reducing the employee's span of working day per week will enhance the profits. However, it not necessarily true that if we increase the working hour per day, it will certainly augment the companies profit. Since long time work may appear tiring and troublesome for the few employees. The author did not provide any information regarding the demand of the occupants. For example, how many staff want the workday shift? The decision had taken based on what percentage of the employee of Company X. So, it seems that there is an urge of knowing the answer to these questions. Without these, the argument may not be blindly believed.

Secondly, Company X claims with their new policy employee morale will be increased. However, this argument may be fallacious due to the following reasons. Although there is an increase in holiday, it hinders the regular life of an employee. For instance, if they had another plan on that hour after the closing of the office. It may be the quality time either with their family or any individuals.

Finally, shutting down on office on Fridays may decrease the profit because there is no statement about the shipment day of Company X. The delivery day of the products can be Friday also as nothing mentioned in the argument. As a result, closing office on that day will make disappoint the clients that also obstruct well being of the company.

In conclusion, the number of unwarranted assumptions, in the previous sections, questions about the validity of the argument. Unless they are properly addressed with citing some veritable proof, the argument will still be fallacious.