The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the passage, the council of maple county is concerned about over development of the existing farmland by placing restrictions that limit the supply of new houses in the county which could result in increase in housing cost. proponents of the measure notes that similar restrictions was adopted by pine country and chestnut county and it results to increase in houses prices. To further determine whether the argument is reasonable three questions must be answered.

First of all, is maple county comparable to both pine county and chestnut county? in other words, is there any significant similarities between the counties from which this assumption was drawned out? maple county maybe a county in the rural area while pine and chestnut county maybe counties in moderately populated area and urban city respectively. it might be in accurate to compare them because they don't have the same population characteristics. for example it might be absurd to compare a county in Ekiti state ( a relatively small and rural part of Nigeria) with already established centers like ikeja, in Lagos, Nigeria.

Secondly, the author is assuming that issues of ten and fifteen years ago still exist? we couldn't have been so sure maybe there were other factors from the past the influence the prices of houses in pine and chestnut county. other factors which is not based on the restrictions. for example; the social class of people living in the county may brought about increase in the price of the houses and also general increase in standard of living and inflation rate can also contribute to the increase in price of houses.

Lastly, what if pine and chestnut county have limited land for agricultural purpose led them into imposing restrictions on supply of new houses? the argument will be flawed if limited land led pine county to impose such restriction so that it can have available land for agricultural purpose. Marple county maybe be blessed with large area of land suitable enough for agricultural purpose while giving room for development of the county. for example; comparing ado Ekiti in Nigeria and Ikole Ekiti on the bases will be flawed because ado Ekiti is an urban center and introducing such restriction could be a welcome idea in ado but it will be a wrong thing to do in the case of Ikole Ekiti which obviously has less population and a lot of land for building and agricultural purposes.

In conclusion, the argument as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidences then it will be possible to fully evaluate the the viability of the proposed recommendation of limiting the supply of new houses.