The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council claims that the implementation of the measure to avoid the overdevelopment of the county will result in the increase in the housing prices in Maple County. Stated in this way, the argument fails to acknowledge diverse pivotal aspects, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. It reveals several instances of poor reasoning and weak anticipation. It tries to persuade the reader by distorting the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing weak pieces of evidence and examples. In support of the stated conclusion, the author notes that there will be a significant increase in the housing prices in Maple county as there was in the Pine County under similar situation fifteen years ago. Nevertheless, careful scrutiny of the assumption reveals that it provides a little plausible support for author's conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered uncorroborated and incomplete.

First of all, the author effortlessly assuments that the statistics survey fifteen years back will be the same as in the present time. This is merely a belief made without much solid ground. For example, fifteen years back, Pine County was in the undeveloped state, so the adoption of the policy would have resulted in the acute need of houses to the population. But, in the present time, it is a developed state and technological advancement has helped the County to deal with the rising prices. The stages at which both the County's are present might be different hence would result in different outcomes. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the precise circumstances when the Pine County has adopted the measures on residential housing.

The argument readily claims that preventing the development of existing farmland in the Maple County will increase the housing prices. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the two aspects. For example, the growth in the population would become static over a course of a period in Maple County, thus the requirement of the new residences would not be as predicted. Therefore, prices will not increase significantly. If the argument has provided evidence about the population growth over a period of at least five years, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author correlates the result of the adoption of the measure in Pine County fifteen years back and the prediction of the results in the Maple County at present. However, careful examination of the assumption reveals that it provides a little plausible support and raises several skeptical questions. To illustrate, the population of the Pine county fifteen years back and the present population of the Maple county have not been studied by the author. The surface areas of both the County's is also neglected by the author. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with an impression that claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide concrete pieces of statistics and evidence, perhaps by a way of detail study of other factors. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about different comparative aspects of a county between Pine, Maple, and Chestnut.