Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic can be interpreted from different angles before examining the effect of formal education on our minds and spirits. Indubitably, the kind of formal education that is given to the youth and children degrades their creativity and individualism. It does not support the spiritual wellness of the students and focusses only on the study and training of students to deal with the practical world. Nevertheless, it trains our minds to think and imagine to its utmost potential. It helps to cultivate a disciplined way to live a life. Hence, I believe that formal education helps our minds and spirits to get free by making us a wise and knowledgeable being.

First of all, formal education makes our minds capable to think beyond the possibilities and develops individual's interest to dedicate his/her life to create something extraordinary. This is only possible for an individual by crossing the boundaries of his brain power and make his mind free to imagine and solve the enigmatic problems. To illustrate, a well designed formal education has bill gates to build his knowledge about computers which eventually helped him to develop world's most user-friendly computer software. Furthermore, without formal education, our minds will be wandering with the purpose to achieve miracles and make this world a better place to live without knowing any navigation. Thus, we will be lost and would not be able to reach our targets. Consequently, formal education helps our minds to go beyond the limitations of training and developing its power and capacity.

Admittedly, during the course of formal education, an individual's preternatural creativity gets hampered. This is especially when one is not able to cope up with the stresses and could not make time to pursue his hobbies and passions. However, with proper guidance, this negative impact of the education can be nullified and can be molded to help oneself to become better at his passions. Hence, one should not hold to the intensity of formal education to ruin one's creativity as a reason offend the benefits which it gives to oneself.

In conclusion, although formal education causes loss of creativity in some circumstances, it cannot be postulated that it tends to restrain one's mind and spirit for being free. As long as one is getting a well designed formal education, it only adds strengths to his life and modifies his way of doing and thinking about things to a positive extent.