The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the data survey of high school math and science teachers show that the high school of Sanlee district despite recieving more freaquent home work assign to them, they scored worse grades than the marlee district students, Therefore teachers in our high school should assign homework no more than twice a week, However, before this recommindation should be probably evaluated , three questions must be answered.

First of all, Do both high school of Marlee and high school of sanlee have the same education cirriculemme ? it’s possible that the students of sanlee high school have more courses and therefore more class work which will undermine their ability to focus and concentrate on their assignments, moreover , in general , every high school have different curriulmme which will appose a problem of comparing different schools based on their homework, if either of these senarious have merit, the conclusion drawn in the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, Is the difficulty of the homework of both school the same? The recommender assumes that the students of both schools will complete the homework in the same time, However , this might not be the case , although the number of homework assigned to Sanlee’s students is more , the difficulty of these assignments might have played a bigger rule in the problems they faced, if this was the case, the conclusion drawn in the argument is undermined.

Thirdly, Do the teachers of both schools have the same grading system for the assignments? The reason for the marlee students are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee might be the fact that the grading for each of their homework is varied, therefore the overall grade will be signifactly afected . , if this was the case, the conclusion drawn in the argument is signifacntly weakned.

In conclution , the argument as it stands now is considrebly flawed, if the aouther is able to aswer the quentions and offer more eviedence , then it will be possible to fully evaluate the vialbility of the preposed recommindation .