The department of Agriculture in Batavia reports the number of dairy firms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During the same period, however the price of milk has increased from $1.5 to $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing excessive profits The Batavia government should regulate retail milk prices.

The article conclude that the number of dairy firms in batavia has been increased by 25% over the ten year time period and the price of milk also appreciated from $1.50 to $3.00. As farmers are making excess profit and thus the government should regulate the retail price of milk. I think that the argument is logically flawed and it is not convincing enough for increasing the retail price of milk.

First of all, in a competitive market the price of any goods is determined by market forces. The demand and supply automatically adjusts to set the price of any commodity. In batavia, the price of milk has been changed over the 10 years period by demand and supply mechanism. over the 10 year period, the population has also been changed which ultimately resulted into change in demand of milk. In order to meet the increased demand the number of firms also increased. so, i am not agree about the writer's recommendation interfering in the market mechanism.

Secondly, inflation is also another factor which has contributed in the increase of milk price. over 10 year period, the inflation or price level in batavia has changed and to reflect of that price changes in milk price the milk price has also been altered. The price of items like food, vaccination, treatment cost, goods for making firms etc. has also been increased. therefore in order to reflect these price changes the milk price must also change. In this argument, the writer did not mention nothing about the price changes in Batlavia. if the other prices in the market changes then the milk price should also increased otherwise the farmers will incurred also. In his argument, without mentioning about these the writer only make recommendation for increasing the milk price which is illogical as well as irrelevant.

For making dairy firms, the farmers have to sacrifice other things. Because we know that the resources are limited and we have unlimited want. For feeding the cattle, the farmers might used the farming land for producing grass for cattle which is limiting the production of agriculture products. Due to increase in milk price, many farmers might shift to this industry by sacrificing agriculture. so if government took the decision of controlling milk price then many farmers may shift to another industry which ultimately resulted in reduction of supply of milk in the market. therefore, the decision of controlling milk price might have negative effect.

Finally, the argument is irrelevant and logically flawed. without analysing the actual fact, it is ridiculous to regulated the milk market. To strengthen the argument, the writer must provide concrete evidence to show that regulation have positive impact of milk production as well as on milk consumption.