Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

When is the most appropriate time for children to start learning foreign languages such as English or Chinese is a controversial issue. Some people believe that primary level is the ideal time for learning foreign language, while other opposes this view. They think that the children should learn foreign language when they are at secondary level. There is no doubt that both views have some advantages and disadvantages.

To begin with, the main virtue of learning secondary language at primary level is that at this age the students have better perception of language as well as they also have sharp memory. Kids always learn faster and they also able to memorize things for longer period of time. Furthermore, students of primary level have flexible tongue, which assists them of being accustom to pronunciation faster. For example, my cousin who started learning English at the age of four even before he went to school is too fluent in English so that unknown people often mistakenly assume him as a native speaker. Finally, children of primary school have more times to familiar with the language. This means that they have more time to learn the language very well.

On the other hand, sometimes it is better not to hurry up with loading children with foreign language. Besides, knowing a foreign language, juveniles has numerous things to learn at early age. Thus, they are already over burdened and the extra pressure from learning a language would have detrimental effect on children psychology. Instead, the parents of young children should engage their child to learn the norms and customs of the society in which they belong. It justifies that children can concentrate on educating themselves in foreign language at secondary level.

To summarize, it could be emphasized that these two opinions regarding the age of learning foreign language have both pros and cons. Therefore, it should be the sole discretion of their parents when children should learn a second language. Based on potential, the parents should decide when they will let their children to start learn another language.