Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

When is the appropriate time for adolescent to learn a foreign language such as English or Chinese is a controversial issue for long time. Some people believe that the primary level is the ideal time for learning foreign language, while other opposes this view and think that the children should learn foreign language when they are at secondary level of education. There is no doubt that both views have some advantages and disadvantages as well.

To begin with, the main virtue of learning a foreign language at primary level is that at this age the students have better perception of language as well as they also have better remembering. Because kids always learn faster than any other and they also able to memorize that things for long time. Furthermore, the students of primary level have flexible tongue, which assist them to accustom of pronunciation faster. For example, my cousin who started learning English at the age of four even before he went to school. Now unknown people often mistakenly assume that he is a native English speaker. Finally, children of primary school have more times to familiar with the language. This means that they have more time to learn the language very well.

On the other hand, sometimes it is better not to hurry up with loading children with foreign language. Besides, knowing a foreign language the juveniles has numerous things to learn at primary level. Thus they are already over burdened and the extra pressure of another foreign language would cause detrimental effect on children psychology. Instead, the parents of young children should engage their child to learn the norms and customs of the society in which they live. It seems that children can concentrate on educating themselves in foreign language at secondary level.

To summarize, it could be emphasized that despite these two opinions on when the adolescent should learn foreign language, it should be the sole discretion of the respective parents when their children should learn a second language based on their potentiality of their children. Both of these views have merits and demerits, which should bear in mind by the parents.