A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Industrialization is known as the main engine for the developing countries like Bangladesh. Without it overall economic development is not possible, which is the ultimate target of every nation. Some people advocates for establishing new factories around the community. Other group opposes it. In my views, a new factory near our community is a positive addition for mainly two positive reasons.

The first reason is that the newly established factory will generate new employment. The company will recruit workers for building the infrastructures, establishing the machineries and this will generate employment in our locality. It will also attract new business in my area. For example, the forward linkage business and backward linkage business will be created based on this new factory. The firm also engaged people for manufacturing and marketing their products, which will create employment and certainly contribute to the overall development of the country. Moreover, it will also reduce anarchy in the society. For example, few years back in my friend’s town, a new fish processing industry was establishing. Almost everyone was opposing the decision of government because it would degrade the environment in that area. But the authority was determined about it’s decision and built the firm by taking appropriate measures so that it don’t affect the environment. After that the overall economic activity increased, which leads to significant development of that area. Therefore, without industrialization socio-economic development is not possible.

Another reason is that the initiation of a new firm will increase the tax revenue of government. This added revenue could be used for infrastructure development of my locality. In this regard, I want to share my experience, which a compelling example of this. Few years’ back, I was posted to a small town and at that time, the local government gave the permission of establishing a food processing industry in that area. But at the beginning, a group of people was opposing the decision by saying that it will create noise and add traffic in that area. But after the establishment of the firm, the scenario changed. The local government was earning more taxes and all these revenues had been used for the development of roads, community centers, play grounds, which helped to increase the welfare of the people of that area. As you can see, these developments would not be possible without the permission of establishing the firm.

In conclusion, I support the decision of establishing the factory in my area. The factory will not only create employment but also it will contribute to the overall development of people of this area. Therefore, every city should attract new firms such as the firms of our community.