“During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

The experts claims that by reducing time of shift the safety incidents of Alta Manufacturing can be bring down . Sated in this way , the argument fails to mention several key factors , reveal several instance of poor terminology and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing week comparison with company whose working hours is less . However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals hat it provides littel creditable support for the experts’s conclusion . Hence , the arguments seems incomplete or unsbustantiated .

To begin , are the manufacturing product is similar in both the companies ? or in the other words , are both companies belongs from the same manufacturing industry ? . Its is possible that Panoply industry working in very soft industry like FMCG or Pharmaceutical where as alta working industry is very heavy like production of steel pipe or production of trucks . As both industry have very distinct products , job of humans may be different . Person in the soft industry like FMCG generally working in the AC and have very low physical stress whereas labour in steel pipe manufacturing company workes in very high temperature , noisey and dustful enviornment . Therefore ,if production wise physical stress on the human per hour different then experts should not compare them self with industries which are working in same sector .

Secondly , Is both company have same humane intervention in procees or machinery ? . Considering both works in the same sector , there is chance that one has full automatic production assembly leading to use human for reparining and supervision purpose only whereas other is semi automatic industry where people need to continuously work with machine by arranging product in machine , put products and giving command . Due to full automation , worker doesn’t have to carry out risky task which inturn reduce safety incidents . If the scenario exit then reducing time of shift will not bring impactful result .

Lastly , Is human force to production is same in both industries ? or in other worlds , Is work load is analogous in both company ? For instance , if human force to production ration is quite low compare to Panoply industry , then it’s affect human physically and mentally . Employee occupied with lot of work in their plate have very high chance of making mistake during their work and even avoid taking brakes to meet the demands of employer . This mistakes may be converted into fatality due to lack attecntion during work .

In conclusion , the argument stand know is considerably flaw due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions . If experts consider above three question and provide proper evidence , then its fully possible to evaluate viability of the proposed recommendation to reduce working hours.