College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Selecting a field of study after completing high school is not a trivial matter as your future depends on it . Therefore , students seek guidance from parents , relatives and fellow classmates . In this contemporary world , many support choosing your field of study where an abundance of job opportunities are available . However , the rest of people go against it and suggest choosing based on your area of interest . I do not see a central idea with various reasons which will be elucidated in the following paragraph with an apt example .

To begin , the job market is very volatile and jobs which are hot in one decade may not be in the next decade . To exemplify , an abundance of positions were filled in the mid 19th century as plethora of power plants construction was ongoing and a lot of research was happening . But after two decades , one world started to shift towards green energy for power production , nuclear engineer jobs were drastically reduced and many were relieved from their jobs . It is pretty evident from the above example that job availability is totally dependent on where advancement happens and it can take turn any time making many people unemployed .

Further , “ Do what you love “, Very well known saying which emphasises on doing things you are fond of . If you work on an area of interest you will be happier and your creativity level will be high . This will also improve your mental healthiness as you're doing what you're enjoying and not just for a sack of money running behind targets . For example , consider Steve Job choosed his area of interest based on availability of opportunities in the market rather than pursuing his area of interest , then we don’t have Apple which brings revolution in the laptop and phone industry . These inventions were due to visionful thinking and the continuous creativity of Steve Job .

On the logger’s head some will argue that taking your study of subject on job availability will help you to get a high paying job after college and bring financial independence in your life . But this can be counter argued by the deleterious effect on student performance and on its mental health . Even there are high chances that many people will leave study as it does not intrigue him . For example , in India , students suicide rate is very high , as many students take course due to immense presser from their parents and when they not perform well in exams or fail , they prefer take their life rather embarrassing himself / herself in front of society .

Hammering the last nail , it's evident from above arguments that taking the field of which students are found to have more advantages on one’s life , health and performance .