Essay topics:

'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt states that the business manager of a television station has devoted increased time to national news as compared to local and weather news which, supposedly has led to an increase in the complaints received from viewers. This has also led them to lose out on advertising contracts. To avoid losing further revenue and to attract more viewers the manager suggests restoring the time devoted to local and weather news to its former level. The manager's conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumptions which, if turn out to be wrong would lead to the weakening of the argument.

First of all, there is no statistical evidence provided that gives information as to how many viewers watch the television station. It is assumed that this is a significant number and the complaints received are also a significant number. It might be possible that the television station does not have a significant number of viewers which would mean that the television station would not have a significant decrease in viewers. If information is provided as to how many viewers the television station has, then it would be possible to conclude whether the decrease in the number of viewers would lead to a significant loss.

Second of all, it is assumed that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the television station since they have allotted less advertising time to them during the late-night news program. However, it might be possible that the television station has increased its advertising rates which is not affordable to the local businesses which led to them cancelling the advertising contracts. It also might be possible that the local businesses demanded an advertising time during the day as well for the same rates which the advertising agency did not agree and it led to the local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts with the television station. If information is provided about the advertising rates of the television station or whether the local businesses wanted a change in the advertising time then it would weaken the argument.

Thirdly, the business manager assumes that by reverting back to their old schedule they would be able to gain more viewers and advertising contracts. However, there is no information provided if there is another television station in the area or whether the viewers prefer watching the news on the Internet or the local businesses have turned to the internet for advertising. It might be possible that the television station is in a market with fierce competition and other major television stations. It also might be possible that the viewers and local businesses have turned to the Internet for local news and weather forecasts and advertising since it might be a cheaper alternative. If this information provided in the form of a survey which provides information about the competition faced by the television station and the preferences of the viewers and advertising agencies then it would weaken the argument.

The business manager has arrived at a conclusion that is based on unwarranted assumptions which if proved wrong with the help of statistical evidence and surveys would weaken the argument. In order to strengthen the argument, information has to be provided on the number of viewers the television station had before, whether there are other major news networks in the area and about the viewer's preferences.