The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the above memorandum from the president of Humana University, he states that the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs increased by 50 percent which has lead to a significant decrease in the expenditures for dormitories and classroom space. The president of Humana University predicts that instituting these online programs in Humana University will lead to an increase in enrollment as well as decrease the cost required for maintaining the buildings in view of the budget deficit. The president of Humana University has based his prediction on the observation that these programs have been a success in Omni University and are likely to change the current situation of Humana University. However, before this prediction can be properly evaluated three questions need to be answered.

First of all, are the Omni University and Humana University comparable? In other words, will the implementation of the online degree programs in one University be viable and applicable to another University? It might be possible that Omni University is more renowned and has a well-established reputation which attracts the students and they look at it as a prestigious opportunity to study at a renowned University without having to pay accommodation and housing expenses. It might be possible that professors at Omni University are more skilled and adept at teaching as compared to Humana University. Thus students will be willing to pursue an online degree program at this University to have a concise understanding of fundamental concepts related to a particular course without feeling shy or fear of being left behind. If either of these scenarios has merit then it would weaken the prediction which has been made.

Secondly, has the Humana University failed to grow collectively, or just in a particular area or field? It might be possible that Humana University has been growing in academics but has a weak literature or sports program due to which there have been no notable alumni from the university in that field. If this is true, then starting an online degree program to improve enrollment might m=not be a feasible option. The University should look at other plausible alternatives like hiring better professors or encouraging students to take part in these extracurricular activities, promote literary and sports clubs, etc. These alternatives will reduce the expenditure for the University, in the sense that they would not have to purchase high-speed internet with a large bandwidth, training costs for the professor to get them acquainted with the technology, etc. If the above scenario is true, then the prediction would be weakened.

Thirdly, if the online degree program is implemented, then how would it help to increase enrollment and solve the budget problems? It might be possible that in the online degree program market there are other competitors, i.e other Universities which have been involved in this market for a significant amount of time and have a plethora of courses each having a higher educational quality as compared to Humana University. There is no information provided on the existing competitors in this market and no surveys or numbers regarding the likely increase in enrollment that would occur. There is no information provided about research being done on the viability of implementing this program, no statistical information or time period within which the enrollment would start to increase nor the percentage decrease in maintenance cost of buildings. Since there is no information provided on the above question it would weaken the prediction.

The president of Humana University has based his prediction on a number of assumptions which if unwarranted are likely to make the prediction wrong. In order to predict more information is needed in the form of bar graphs, statistics, surveys which will estimate the probability of the prediction being right so as to give clarity on whether the online degree program should be implemented. If this information is provided then it will be possible to estimate the likelihood of this prediction being true and on basis of that, a suitable plan of action can be taken in favor of the Humana University.