Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's competitive world, employers want students who have knowledge up to a certain extent outside of their field as it makes them more lucrative and desirable from a hiring and employing standpoint. The prompt is highlighting this as a measure that should be taken by the Universities as a norm. I agree with the claim and argue that each student should take a variety of courses outside their field of study for three reasons.

First of all, everyone is familiar with the axiom 'A jack of all trades but a master of none. This is applicable at each and every point in a student's life as well as in their career. For instance, a student who is pursuing Mechanical engineering who takes too much programming and courses related to competitive coding will be stuck in between 2 paths. Most of the MNCs(Multi-National Companies) in the software or IT industry like Amazon, Google, Facebook, etc. have a predilection for students who are either Computer Science or Information Technology graduates as they have solely worked in this field and have participated in various hackathons and coding challenges and have done a plethora of projects in Coding field. This gives them vast experience and makes them more desirable. Now, if a student who is a mechanical engineering graduate would likely have fewer opportunities and will be facing stiffer competition and competing for fewer job vacancies which will make it difficult for him to get a job in the IT industry. Moreover, since he has not done a majority of projects, internships, or apprenticeships in fields related to Mechanical Engineering it will make it difficult for him to secure a job in this field due to a lack of technical knowledge and subject expertise. This example illustrates that such a student will be having knowledge of both fields but will not be able to secure a job since he hasn't been able to master the necessary skills. This is the most challenging and nightmarish situation for a student while trying to pursue a career in a field that is outside his field of study.

However, in today's global world a number of professions have come into being which are currently in their nascent stage but are likely to have huge potential in the future. These fields are interdisciplinary fields and require people of different educational backgrounds to work together to complete a task or a project. For instance, the field of robotics requires a person to have a sound knowledge of mechanical engineering, electronics engineering, and Computer Science. If a student who is pursuing his undergraduate studies in the field of mechanical engineering, is punctilious about the courses he chooses, he or she will be able to achieve mastery in this interdisciplinary field. Such a student will be able to carve out a niche for himself in the field of robotics and is likely to excel. Prudent selection of such courses may even help the student building the required prerequisites he or she needs if he or she decides to pursue higher education. This example illustrates, how the students can take the required courses to transition to an interdisciplinary career path.

Thirdly, some students have not yet found their passion or figured out which career path to take. For instance, some of the students who take up engineering mostly do not have clarity in which branch of engineering entices them or interests them. Some of them take up a particular branch just on the basis of the college reputation or the marks which they get in entrance examinations. If the Universities introduce this requirement when the student is a fresher itself it will allow him to explore various fields of engineering and then through projects and coursework, it will help him in determining his field of study which will play a huge role in the student being a successful engineer. This example demonstrates that, if the Universities introduce this requirement it would give clarity and perspective to some confused students who have not yet decided which field of study they want to pursue.

Thus the topic of whether the Universities should introduce the requirement of a student taking courses outside his field of study is a complex one and has no easy and direct answers. It is dependent on how students choose these courses and whether they have clarity of thought while they make this decision.