A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible

consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A nation that prompts all students to study the same curriculum is likely to experience turmoil among the students as a lot of the students would be forced to study certain subjects which are not be of interest to them and are likely to be a burden on them and lower their academic grade. Such a proposition would not be in the best interests of students but it would have some benefits. A national curriculum would benefit the teachers as they would have a fixed outline and syllabus to teach and also it would maintain the same standard of education for all students so that no underprivileged, culturally challenged or some other handicaps would occlude their education. Though, it will have some benefits I mostly disagree with the policy.

It is true that having a national curriculum would maintain a certain common educational standard and educational proficiency among the students. This will help the students from economically challenged backgrounds and other minority students since they are the ones who are the most probable to be left behind. For instance, if each student has to study Physics, Maths, Chemistry and Biology along with a few languages it will give the students an equal ground and help them by setting up a common base so that are able to choose their subjects of liking which would, in turn, help them in choosing a field or career path which they want to pursue like Engineering, Medicine, Philology or Arts. This will help them in selecting an apt career path that concurs with their aptitude and liking. The above example demonstrates a case in which implementing the policy would be beneficial for a particular group of students by giving them an opportunity to be academically sound with their peers and not get left behind in the rat race for jobs and success in today's world.

However, it is most likely that implementing this policy would cause an unfair burden on students as they would have to study subjects which they are disinterested in up to a certain level which will be mentally taxing for them. For instance, a student who has figured out his aptitude and is good at Math and Physics and wants to pursue engineering would have to study Biology, Languages, History, Geography etc. which are of no interest to him. He would have to burn his midnight oil studying these subjects to have a decent academic grade and may not find the time to pursue his/her passion and be able to increase his penchant for engineering further. This might deter him from giving his best in Engineering and he might end up being average or a mediocre engineer in today's world which would cause him to lose good jobs. This example illustrates how implementing the policy would be unfavourable for students who have discovered their interest and have a strong penchant for certain subjects.

Another reason that implementing this policy might backfire is the teacher's interest in teaching might wane. For instance, students who have a certain animosity towards a particular subject when are instructed to study and take classes of that subject are more likely to take out their frustration and anger in a class by being disrespectful towards the teacher or being a nuisance and a disturbance to students as well. This will not only impact the learning of the students who are interested in taking that class and studying the subject sincerely but also vex the teacher and hinder her teaching. The denouement will be that the teacher will be disinterested in teaching and would resort to teaching the bare minimum and without alacrity causing an overall decline in the educational standard. This example highlights one of the drawbacks of implementing this policy and is likely to cause more harm than good.

Thus there might be a few advantages in implementing the policy but in the bigger picture, it would not benefit the students or teachers and students would decrease student's inclination towards education.