Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Students must be required to spend at least six months studying in a foreign country.

In today's exceedingly competitive world, education is of utmost importance and graduating fields, which are currently being pursued throughout the world and closely align with one's own interests is most likely to set one up for lucrative job opportunities and career prospects. The prompt suggests that in order for this to be applicable to a large enough sample size of students, they should be required to spend atleast six months studying in a foreign country. For a student, who is passionate about a particular subject or field, he or she always finds a way to learn more about the field to make him or her more attractive in terms of career opportunities. Hence, I mostly disagree with the above prompt for two reasons.

First of all, studying in a foreign country is very expensive, which cannot be afforded by everyone even when, they receive a scholarship. Students who come from economically challenged backgrounds would find such a requirement to be extremely stringent in terms of completing their education since, they also have to earn and support their families. For instance, students from economically challenged backgrounds in India, receive a tuituon fee discount in State run colleges along with other types of scholarships commensurate with their academic performance. If such a policy is implemented, then these students will likely be scrouging and struggling to put together funds, so as to complete this requirement and receive their degrees. Some students are likely to drop out in view of such a policy being implemented, as they will have to sell a lot of their family belongings, their homes, etc. to come up with these funds and these students will lose out on an opportunity for a better future. This example illustrates the fact that, implementing such a policy is likely to be deleterious to students who are eonomically challenged.

Secondly, in the era of internet and globalization, distance learning and freelance educators, who teach students for nominal fees through Youtube, Massive Open Online Course (MOOC), etc. are becoming quite popular. In addition to this, a lot of educational material in the form of books and research papers are available on the Internet. Universities have also started distance learning programmes, at a nominal fee which provides students with the same education in an online mode and at a cheaper cost. For instance, a lot of the courses taught by the professors of MIT and other Ivy league institutions are available on platforms such as eDX, Coursera, etc. at a nominal cost and sometimes the colleges in which students are enrolled provide a campus-wide access to these courses free of cost. Such schemes, have led to a quality and world class education being delivered to students without them having to travel to a foreign country. This example illustrates, that students can receive the same education without them having to travel to foreign countries.

However, if students are able to afford the cost of studying in a foreign country for six months, then they should be required to do so as it would likey help them in securing a better future and can be thought of as an investment for a better tomorrow. But, this is not the case with most students, as most of them, even if they can afford the costs, have to worry about other problems such as, living in a foreign country alone and with no family there to help them, it can be a daunting challenge and they might struggle to cope with and adjust to their new environments. I would like to conclude that such a policy should not be introduced as an obligation, but as a choice.