Essay topics: The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation, a manager from Monarch Books argues that it should start in-store cafe in the current space of children’s books to improve profit and eschew competition from Book and Bean. It seems credible at first, however, many pieces of week evidence led me to question the credibility of the argument.

First, the manager should give more specific evidence on when Book and Bean is going to open a Collegeville store. The exact date should be considered, Since, Book and Bean has not announced the exact date of opening the store, Monarch Book should not move on to the in-store plan. Thus, the in-store cafe should be planned in the long run given that Book and Bean has not opened the store yet.

Second, the manager should afford more specific number of declined population under age ten. This is because, he cited the word “significant” from the census data. It should be quantified, since “the significant”deline might be mirginal to a book market in Collegeville. Thus. Monarch Book should not replace its children section with cafe. Additionally, Monarch Book might lose its advantages that it has wide selection of books on all subjects which help it to amass large customer.

Third, the manager should give more solid evidence on the income and outcome of Monarch Book, it they open a in-store cafe. Total expenses by adding construction cost and wage for new workers might override the income of Monarch Book. Even if, expense is smaller than initial income of Monarch Book, it is plausible that income might be decreased. By getting rid of children’s section, Monarch might lose many children customer and also their parents who might buy addtional book for themselves.

In summary, the argument seems not convincing on many grounds. the manager should afford more concrete evidence and various information on the things I mentioned above.