According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter, author argues that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes in simillar way that Groveton’s practiced in order to decrease cheating among university students. It is convincing at first, however, some recommendations seems unreasonable that leads me to question the argument.

Fisrt, the universities and colleges should question the exact number of their cheating students in order to assure whether they need honor code or not. It is important to know how many students are cheating in their colleges or universities. This is because students might need not to spend their extra time and effort while they take a test. It is uneffective for students and faculty to concentrate on the cheating problem

Second, the universities and colleges should question the efficency of the honor code. For example, when group of students foment to cheat, they share their positions not to tell anybody that the fact they cheat. In this case, faculty has no idea if the group of students have cheated or not because the group of students would not tell anything to faculty about cheat, futhermore, if all students in classes are engaged in the group, a faculty never knows the truth.

Finally, the question on the recent report about students should be arised by the universites and colleges. The decreased rate of the cheating among the students is unreasonable in some ways. Fisrt, students report include the students who cheat on the academic endeavors as well. Therefore the report is not good indication that show the actual rate of cheating students. Second, students’ cheating skill might be improved because of the honor code. Students who tend to cheat prevent themselves from discovered by more secure and more minor technique to avoid their faculty and contemporaries eyes.

In summary, the author should question the recommandation that he afforded on the text. To bolster, more detail informations on exact students number who cheat and more concrete survey and report shoould be afforded.