Essay topics: "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The argument brings out the conclusion that in order to enhance the audience rating and advertising revenues, the television station is supposed to enhance the coverage the programs of local news and weather. To prove the analyze, the arguer points out that some complaints collected from audience refers to the lack of local news and weather prediction. Besides, the author provides that local businesses undo several contracts concerning about the advertising during late-night news. However, a careful examination reveals how groundless the argument is because the evidence arguer used is rife with holes and critical flaws.

To start with, the argument is based on an unwarranted assumption that the negative feedback from the audience is a representative survey which can lead the conclusion that the majority of local people dislike the current programs. It is fatal to make such a conclusion without giving the specific information about the samples in survey. For instance, there are no the age distribution, career proportion and other indications.The arguer does not consider other possibilities that this survey might come from a group of older people who always think highly of the political news and the weather prediction. If the most of people are consist of teenagers, the outcome might be completely different. Unless the arguer provide the evidence that the chosen sample are selected randomly and fully representative of local residents, the argument are not convincing.

Moreover, the arguer simply assumes that canceling the existed contraction from the local company resulted from the loss of coverage toward weather and news. It is quite possible that other market reasons might lead to such outcome. What if the market condition is not so promising that the company abandoned the advertising plan? And the possibility might be high that this company face a expense circulation problem, which can account for terminating the contract. Even, the reason of the contract abandoning is the change of the television programs, rearrangement of programs into the previous order would not necessarily to guarantee company will make a contract with the television station. Since the market plan might had been transformed through other means. Such as, the company find that it is more effective to send fliers compared with the TV ads. So, to substantiate the argument, the arguer should show us the evidence that whether the lack of coverage in news and weather is the real reason leading the company to quit the advertising contract.

Finally, the argument obviously made a hasty conclusion. Even though the previous evidence are exact and correct, the claim that extend the news and weather coverage to all the news programs. It is too absolute to make such a conclusion. The mean of run late-night news program is quite disparate from other programs. Even the audience of late-night news programs lean to the weather and news coverage, there is no guarantee that same outcome would occur for other television programs. Say, inserting the news and weather programs into the kids entertainment programs is ridiculous, which could annoy children to change their ways to have fun. And think about that while you are watching a series romantic   TV plays, suddenly, a weather forecast come into your eyes, which is quite disturbing and boring. So you may just turn to another channel. From above reasons, the coverage of these programs would decreased sharply when the same policy are implemented.

As it stands, the argument is not well reasoned. To conclusion, the arguer fails to establish a logical reasoning that all the TV programs should adopt the policy that enhance the news and weather coverage in all programs. To strength the argument, the arguer would have to provide the evidence that the samples collected from the survey are fully representative, which could reflect the whole opinion in this region. And to better evaluate the argument, we would need more information about the authentic reason why the company canceled the contract with television station.