Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

The concept of honor codes seems to be a biased system of accepting to cheating. The author states that each individual reports oneself or others if they have cheated, however, the author forgets to throw light on the not so genuine candidates.

One scenario would be if the student who is cheating is not committing to the offense. This scenario might be attributed with the way a child has been taught and brought up. It is true that as kids we were taught a proverb 'Honesty is the best policy', however, how many of us are inclined to this proverb? The seeds of honesty should be sowed as kids and in every kid. Only few students being honest and others being dishonest might put the honest student to a greater disadvantage.

The next scenario would be of student rivalry, where a particular student might be reported just because of personal conflicts. Though the student who had been reported might be genuine, it would take a lot of effort from the individual to clear his / her name which is unnecessary. This scenario is a real time practice these days especially among close competitors. The intention might not be to deter the name of the person but simply to put the person into hardship and distract them.A few months distraction of clearing his / her name might have a negative impact on his / her score and lead to the advantage of the student who complained. Any actions for false allegation is not discussed by the author.

The statistics provided seems to be vague since the number of students enrolled in the course for a particular year could have been lesser, that is, the teacher could have found 30 out of 100 students and the students reporting could have been 20 out of 90 or 14 out of 50, in which case the percentage of students who are cheating is more or less same or even increased by the years.

In conclusion, it is best if an unbiased individual is employed to monitor students so that every individual is given a fair trial.