Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager is concerned about the late-night viewership and states that the channel received concerns that weather and local news were not adequately reported. Hence the business manager is proposing steps to mitigate the damage caused by devoting more time to weather and local news.

The manager states that it is a late-night show and there is no account if people prefer to sleep rather than seeing any news at all. If this is the case, there might not be any viewership for any news telecasted during that time. The channel might have to think about rescheduling the whole lot. Also, there is no information of the preference of the people, that is, even if local and weather reports are telecasted, there might be a few number of people who watch different channels anyways. This cannot be accounted for decrease in viewership.

One thought is about the quality of national news that is telecasted; some light must be thrown on this since even a very interesting stack of national news might interest the most uninterested lot. How well this news channel presents the national news is a question to ponder. Any advertising company would not want to associate themselves with sub-standard quality and this might be the sole cause of many advertising companies retracing their contracts.

One scenario is that only a few sect of people might be unhappy with the sudden change in the program list and others might still be interested to view national news. Details like total viewership and the percentage complaining about the change could be inspected for more insight in this matter.

Overall, more information on people preference, quality of the material presented, total viewership and percentage complaining can be taken into consideration before trying to mitigate the situation.