Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Right to be informed is a debated topic in this era of communication. Every individual warrants information immediately, more precisely in their fingertips. It is a general belief that the more you know about something the more comfortable you are with it, but people supporting this theory might not agree if a CC camera is in pursuit of their daily activities - that would be an intrusion in their private space.

Applying the same concept for a country, informing every move of the country to the general public might put the country at risk as a whole. Though the citizens might be using the information for a greater good, there is a risk where the information can gain unwanted attention and there might be incidences to stall the moves / motives of the country. For instance, publicizing information of a rocket launch may attract stalling effort from other countries, provided there is some political tensions between the countries.

Most political leaders are immensely talented and have high reputations or are backed with one of the finest minds of the country. A predictive depression in the economy, if publicized might upset a large scale of stock holders and might end up brining down share markets even before the actual depression. Note the word 'predictive'; the depression could have just passed on as a lull period and not a depression, but because of publicizing it, it could lead to a depression immediately. The politicians and their advisors could have taken the necessary steps and the 'predictive' depression wouldn't have happened in the first place.

As people of the country, they shouldn't be hidden from the very basic information or not that the politicians shouldn't be transparent about their paychecks, it is that all information need not be given to the public.