Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author of the argument claims that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors. To support his view, the author says that since Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. The professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent, which resulted in graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as other university students are getting because the employers believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement.

To determine the validity of the argument, we must understand that whether by terminating the procedure of evaluating the teaching effectiveness of all their professors will able to solve the problem of getting jobs or not.

First, the author claims that professors are begun to assign higher grades in their class so as get a better evaluation from the students. However, there might be a possibility that the grades of the students increased due to the efforts of the teacher to make the student more comfortable with the subject or maybe because of their efficiency of teaching. So, claiming that teachers are assigning high grades to students in order to get a better evaluation from them is based on flawed evidence. The author has to provide some effective evidence in support of his claim.

Secondly, the author says that students are not successfully getting jobs as compared to other universities. But, it might be possible that Omega students are not study-oriented compared to Alpha students and getting lower grades in further comparison. Any such evidence would tend to strengthen the argument despite being based on a false premise because employers are preferring graduates from Alpha University based on their grades. Moreover, it might be possible that employers were seeking students from the courses offered by Alpha University and by Omega University.

In sum, the author's argument was based on the uncleared and unsubstantiated assumptions. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we required more information and data about the point mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger the author should outline the real reason behind why Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.