We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café

The author of the argument claims that the monarch books open a cafe in its store. To support his views, the author says that Monarch has a large business base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects and if they open the cafe, then they will able to attract more customers. The argument also points out the cafe can be open by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular.

To determine the validity of the argument, we must understand whether by opening the cafe in Monarch book center, the number of the customer will increase or not. To understand the effectiveness of the recommendation, it would be important to analyze whether opening the cafe by discontinuing the children's book section can able to attract more customers.

The author's suggestion that the section for the children's books should be discontinued, is based on the latest national census which indicates a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. The author has assumed that due to a significant decrease in the children under age 10, the closing of the kids' section will not result in significant loses. But the author did not provide by what percentage it will decrease, for example, if the population is decreased by .5 or 1 percent, then it will hardly affect the business. It might also possible that most of the customers that Monarch store has are children. There may be an indirect effect as well as the children bring along their parents who also tend to buy books for themselves. Closing the children's section will also repel such potential customers. So the authors claim are based on the flawed evidence.

Moreover, the author also stated that by opening the cafe in the Monarch Book Store, the store will able to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its café. But failed to provide any significant data or information about how many numbers of customer Regal Books has attracted since its opening.

If the author has a survey that shows the clients' positive opinion on the opening of a cafe, this would have strengthened his point significantly.

In sum, the author's argument is based on the unconfirmed and unsubstantiated assumption. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we more data and information about the points mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger, the authors need to outline, the real reason why the monarch book store should open a cafe in their store.