The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The author of the argument claim that if the council of Maple County, limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. To support his view, he talked about the Pine County, who adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled.

To determine the validity of the argument, we must understand whether limiting the supply of new houses will affect the price of houses in the country or not. To determine the effectiveness recommendation, it would be important to analyze whether this measure will able to resolve the problem of overdeveloping.

The country considers two scenarios for their plans to place a restriction on the supply of new housing, citing overdevelopment as a reason. First, that the Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. Second, that the Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. But in both of the scenarios, he failed to provide any evidence or report that shows the same or the real reason for the increase in the price of the house in both the regions.

Moreover, the government overlooks the possibility that other factors might be responsible for the increase in the prices of houses. It is entirely possible that the price of houses was increased due to coincidence with a period of global economic recession. Alternatively, the price of houses can be changed due to an increase in the price of building materials such as brick, cement, etc. Unless the council considers and rule out these alternative explanations, I remain unconvinced.

In sum, we can say that the author's argument is based on the unclear and unsubstantiated assumption. In order to evaluate the merit of the argument, we need more information and data regarding the point mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger, the author needs to outline the outcome of such a proposed ban will have.