In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

The author of the statement claim that in any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years because surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. While some may argue that this statement holds all the time, others may counter that claim by providing examples in support of their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both sides of the argument, and also provide sound reasoning for my claim.

First, If you look at the private giants like Microsoft, Apple, Reliance Industries, all of them are having or had single leaders for many years and all of these organizations are doing exceptionally well in their field, achieved various milestones under the single leadership. So I don't think so that after every 5 years those in power should step down from their position because with time your experience will increase and help the leader in excel the organization.

Secondly, If an organization keep on changing their top leadership, after every five years then this could create chaos in the organization. Because every individual have their strategy for how the organization will work under their leadership and if the organization keep on changing their leader after every five years then the organization way of working will change after every five years and this cloud be difficult for the employees as well as for the organization to adopt the new working model.

But as we know every coin has two sides, the above-prolonged leadership has too. This could have a negative side too, because if a President or a Prime Minister of a country will continue to run their government for a long period, then they might have demolished the democracy and rule like a dictator. For example, Hitler withheld the position for a decade and misused his power.

In a nutshell, we can say that in some case those in power should step down after five years won't lead to success as mentioned in first two paragraphs, but in some cases, those in power should step down after five years. Thus, in my view, the surest path to success for any enterprise isn't revitalization through new leadership most of the time.