Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The term "arts" refers to a broad category of musical, physical, and visual-spatial practices, but in essence it contains the ideas of self-expression, creativity, and freedom. The arts connect cultures when people do not speak the same language, with visual images transcending the boundaries of language. Even within people who speak the language, the arts provide a channel for communicating ideas, emotions, and values in a way that words alone cannot. The arts then, broad as the term is, are an important part of any culture. Therefore some people believe that the government should take an active role in funding the arts so that they can flourish and be available to all people. However, other believe that government funding threaten the very essence of art. My opinion is that though government funding is beneficial rather than harmful to the the field of art.

The most beneficial part of government funding would be in art education. Because children contain the future's vision, they need to have an education that develops them not only mentally, but also in their creativity and their ability to connect with others. The arts are the most affordable way to bring children in touch with this ability. The most ideal method would be to provide each child with a wise mentor to help him become enlightened, but as this is not feasible due to the shortage of such ready-to-work mentors and the costs of such a program. The arts, however, allow children to have a medium that helps them develop their skills and learn such things as dedication, practice, craftsmanship, and to experience the pride of presenting their creations. Government funding in this case would help children gain access to art programs. Currently, a rigorous education in the arts is taught only in exclusive private schools, and even public schools have cut the visual arts, physical education, and music from their programs completely due to lack of funding. Government funding of the arts would help bring these programs to a greater number of students instead of to a select few.

For people who completely disagree with the notion of government funding, they might argue that art in the past has not been financed by government but by private aristocracy. They might argue that government funding is not necessary - after all, the great pieces of Michaelangelo were by commission and not funded by the government. They might also argue that government funding would limit creativity and self-expression, as the government would have an agenda. However, though many of the famous paintings in history were funded by either individuals or organizations, the act of funding did not limit the quality, creativity, or self-expression of the artists. The Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci did not have any less brilliance or genius due to the fact that it was a commissioned project. Whether this funding is from a private individual or from the government makes little difference. The paintings on the ceilings of the Sistine Chapel were commissioned by the Chuch, which in those times had as much, or even more, authority than our current government. However, though the work was funded, and though there was a very pointed agenda of Christian theology, the work itself is still no less a great artwork than if it were created for the purpose of self-expression.

The arts has tied in with its name the ideas of creativity and self-expression, and the notion of government funding, which carries agenda and politics, doesn't tie well with these ideas. However, funding of art works in the past have not diminished their value, and more importantly, government funding is greatly needed in the field of art. The area that needs the most support is art education of students, as this creates the greatest long term benefits for the public.