The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

The author of the statement claim that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models because the heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals. Many will argue that this statement holds all the time, while others may counter the statement by providing the example for their claim. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and provide sound reasoning for the same.

The society is a collection of political, culture and economical norms that the majority of people live by. And to understand the character of the society through heroes and role models is quite debatable. One can not firmly say that by examining the characteristics of a society's role models and heroes, we will be able to understand society's character. Because role models and heroes are those who have achieved something by following some principle or path or from the hard work and their character might be different from society's culture.

By examining the heroes and role model character one could only able to understand a very little of a societies culture as society consists of people from different ethnicity, background, and culture. Which cannot be understood from their heroes or role model because role model can be anyone whom you admire, he might have different culture, different background and he might not aware about the other's culture, then could you understand the character by examining him.

For understanding the society character one has to explore the society, interact with the people and understand the history and the culture of the society, for example, if you want to understand the character of India,and you interact with the role models of the country like Sachin Tendulkar, Amitabh Banchan then you won't get clear picture of India's culture as India is a huge country with a huge population, so for understanding their character you have to visit India, interact with the locals, visit the historic place that only one could able to understand their character.

In sum, the author's we can say that the by examine the heroes and role model idea we can get only get an idea about the society and to understand the society's culture you have to visit the society, interact with their people, read their history and explore their historic place.