College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The author of the statement stated that the College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Many of us may argue that it will hold all the time, while others may counter this by providing examples. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

The desire of most of the students is to secure a good after completing the college and for that reason choosing a field, where jobs are available is not a bad idea because the ultimate goal is to get a job. But the question is that, should we ignore or corner our interest in getting a Job? According to me, we should not ignore them because we have dreamt about them for years, we want to see ourselves to succeed in that field and just for sake of a job we have changed our interest is not the right decision.

Secondly, the availability of jobs in particular area doesn't mean that everybody who is pursuing degree in that college will get the job, For example, In India many students opt to Computer science in engineering because India IT sector is producing a lot of jobs but everyone who has passed out from the college is getting job in this field. So, the availability of a job does not mean you will get that job.

Moreover, if you pursue the field of your interest, then firstly you won't regret your life and secondly, you will work in that field with more enthusiasm, commitment and chance of succeed in life will very high when compare to the fields in which you are not interested. Their future will be bright and by study programs as per interest, one will achieve real success irrespective of a job opportunity or pay scale.

In a nutshell, we can say the primary purpose for most of the students after completing the college is to get a good job, but that does not mean that they have to study that field only where the jobs are available. They have to study that field in which they are interested or want to make the future in a particular field.