Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega

professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade

averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic

rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student

achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have

graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega

University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends that Omega University should discontinue student evaluation of professors to enable its graduates to secure better jobs. The suggestion is mainly based on that Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes after the emergence of the evaluation, which engender that the potential employers believe the higher grades at Omega are inflated and do not really reflect student achievement. Nonetheless, some further proofs should be provided to better evaluate the argument.

The author mentions that Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors fifteen years ago and since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes. And he infers that it is the former event that resulted in the latter one. However, the sequence of the events, in itself, does not sufficiently proves the causality between them. In all likelihood, the professors are more patient to teach the students due to the evaluation procedure, then more students can easily understand what they have learned and acquire higher scores. It is also possible that the school has made other efforts to improve the quality of students, such as implementing stricter regulations or recruiting more excellent students than before. Hence, some further credence should be afforded to substantiate the argument.

The author also deduces that the potential employers believed the higher at Omega are inflated and fail to reflect the real achievements of the students, that’ why the graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. Nevertheless, the argument takes a factor that might contribute to an explanation of the observed difference as a sufficient explanation for that difference, which is far-fetched without specific proofs being offered. It is entirely possible that the quality of the students in these two universities are quite different. Maybe the Alpha university is the top university, while the Omega University is in a poor condition. Consequently, it is likely that the graduates of Omega University are harder to find jobs than the ones from Alpha University all the time, and it is irrelevant with the evaluation procedure. Additionally, maybe the main majors in Alpha University are the ones popular in the job market, such as Laws or Computer, while the ones in Omega University are majors like archaeology or Philosophy, which is hard for students to find a job. Under these scenarios, the argument cannot hold water.

Although Omega University suspend the student evaluation of the professors, it is not ascertained that they can secure better jobs. Specific evidence should be offered to strengthen the argument. Whether a graduate could find a job is on the ground of several respects including themselves and the job market situation. For example, if an individual cannot disclose his superior integrated skills and pleasant manners and behaviors, the employers may be reluctant to hire him and they will choose other eligible applicants. Besides, the internship experience is also an indispensable factor when the employers choose a qualified candidate. Hence, it is hasty to implement the author’s suggestion in absence of caring about the aforementioned factors and scenarios.

To sum up, although the argument might be true in some aspects, some specific proofs should be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the conclusion and the whole argument will be more reasoning and convincing.