The following appeared in an article written by

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

In the claim, recent studies compare results with 20 years old research. The time gap may create significant amount of change in social etiquettes and behavior. The gradual westernization may affect this part of the world for more insular family upbringing.

The second study has spread over islands other than Tertia. There’s a possibility that more ethnic groups which not in Tertia offsets study results.

There’s no proof what kind of questions asked in the interviews in the latter study. If the questions were not specific on the subject the answers may not reveal the true objectives.

The statement declining observer-based study based on one comparison is not worthy of the claim, which should be a comparison of a series of studies.

The qualifications of interviewees are not put forward in the second study as per the first is commenced by a renowned professional.

Futher suggesting interview-based method for all anthropology studies may not be fair since the contexts may diversify requiring various methods.