The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim seems to be a mixture of over-predictions and consequential reasoning. The statement provides some plausible facts with some exaggeration compelling to affirm the prediction.

First, the claim doesn’t quantify the number of dormitories required. That said, the necessity is heightened by the predicted multitude of students. But the prediction seems to be somewhat over prediction since a prediction for 50 years have been considered where pragmatic approach around 4 to 5 year estimation would be sufficient. Then again, the mention that students will be doubled over next 50 years an overstatement. Moreover, the incline of number of students not properly justified. A general expectation of population growth or an improvement in education systems may pave way to proliferate the number of promising students for college. But such a explanation not depicted to confirm expected scenario.

The rising rent in the locality seems fair enough to conclude that students find it difficult to find off-campus apartments since the observation has taken over recent years. But the claim fails to mention the period of time for the observation. But the increment of rent may result due to an economic crisis. Therefore, lack of details in economic background in the locality fails to sufficiently predict that the off-campus apartment to be expensive in coming years. Therefore, exaggerating the fact that finding an off-campus apartment is a mere unproven statement.

Students tend to concern on the quality of programs provided as a priority than housing apartments. Then said, attraction of new student with new dormitories is fair prediction as student may find it easy to stay near the campus while they are studying but not affirmative.

For aforementioned details, the necessity for new dormitories for housing seems to justified to some extent but not affirmed enough for a larger investment. Furthermore, future prediction has avoided the economy status of the locality and program quality provided by the campus expecting large increase of number of students.