Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The first statement provides a very impractical conclusion based on founding locality of a distinctive design patter found in Palea. It may have spread over larger geography but the evidence is obscure by the time passed or due to any catastrophic situation. Additionally, people from nearby vicinity may have learnt the design, so mentioning only Palean people utilized the design pattern is quite a myopic conclusion.

In the second statement referring to recent studies fails to mention about the weather conditions over the year passed. There could have been a chance where a drought season may occurred and the Palean people traveled across the river to Lithos and the Palean baskets might be transported therewith. A natural disaster like flood might have washed down the Palean baskets to the other bank of the river in Lithos. This kind of theories may resolve how the baskets found in Lithos without any transport facility for Paleans to cross the river. Therefore, under these circumstances the base is ill-constructed to negate the proprietary rights of the artwork discussed.