The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“20 years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with the children living in the group of Island including Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus the observation-centered approach to study cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered approach that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Author argues the observational approach (by Dr. Field) to know about any particular culture or a group of people is not the right way and rather he claims, the right way of doing this is to approach people and talking to or conducting interviews with them.

The author made a conclusion by dismissing the validity of observation-centered approach to study about cultures and rather stated his interview-centered approach is the only way to know about cultures. This argument made by the authors is based on the evidence by his own interview experience, that he conducted in the same Tertia Island’s children where Dr. Field’s observational based research was conducted. However, author failed to clarify various aspects in his evidence and hence, many loopholes could be noticed in his argument. First, he claims that children of Tertia Island talk about their biological parents mostly. But, it fails to mention on what condition or at which particular moment the children talk about their own parents. Possibly, the interviewer only asked questions that were particularly based on their biological parents. So in this case children are supposed to talk about them. But it fails to prove that mere talking about their own parents would validate the way(s) of working any tradition or culture.

Second, the interview conducted by author and his graduate students failed to prove about the scale of their conducted interviews. Is the no. of interviews conducted is enough to negate the observational approach of Dr. Field, and can establish the case is same, valid and applicable to the entire Island? The argument made here might base on interview conducted only on fraction of children in an area. That would definitely not be enough to prove the common traditional practices of the entire group.

Also, we have to keep in mind the subjects like mental and emotional status of a particular child while the interview was conducted, or a type of question asked that may trigger the emotional side of a child. There might be such question(s) in the interview that made the child reminiscence about his/her parents. The moment or day could be a special (may be his/her birthday or parent’s birthday). So, without knowing the context of the talk that happened during the interview it is difficult to say that authors claims about his approach is the ONLY right approach is wrong.

Hence the more profound study and evidence need to be provided from the author’s side to prove that mere observation would not validate the way of living (here in this case the child-rearing tradition) of group of people, rather, talking with the people will be the right approach to know about them. Until author’s claims are established and supported by solid proves it is hard to fully support the claim made by the author.