The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that Dr. Field's conclusion about the Tertian village culture is invalid and that the interview-centered method is much more accurate is not entirely logically convincing, as it ignores some certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that since children spend more time talking about their biological parents than other adults, then they must have been reared by their own biological parents and not the entire village. This does not completely imply that the children are not been reared by the village, since in fact a child living far away from home may still spend more time talking about his parents than those he stays with.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the interview-centered approach is much more valid than the observation-centered approach, but it fails to tell us what kind of questions where asked during the interview with the children. Besides, how are we sure this method does not ask more questions about the childrens biological parents than other adults.

Thirdly, since the interview included children from other islands, how are sure that the children from Tertian village were not reluctant to answer the interviewers, or what if most of them ran away or scared while the interviewers approached. Which may have caused the result of the interview to include more of the opinion of other villages than that of Tertia.

Hence, the argument is not entirely logically sound. Since the evidence supporting that interview-centered appoach is more accurate than the observation-centered method, and that Dr. Field's observation is wrong is not sufficient to prove the conclusion, as it does not address the assumptions already raised.

Ultimately, the argument would have been strengthened if the author could have shown what the interview questions looked like, if the children from Tertia were not reluctant to being interviewed and if the number of children from Tertia have significant input in the outcome of the interview-centered approach.