In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

For the past few centuries, virtually every field of human endeavour has morphed so drastically in an unprecented way. In cooking the use of fire and wood has been replaced with stoves and cookers, the use of axes and hoes has been replaced with tractors and ploughs, even in the health sector many diseases and ailments ones seen as impossible to cure can now be prevented even with a tablet of drug. All these achievements and developments would have not been possible without the contributions of some people, both beginners and experts. However, people sometimes posit that beginners are more likely to make important contributions in any field of inquiry than the expert. While this does not hold in every case, I agree to this argument due to the following reasons stated below.

To begin with, experts are known to have a vast knowledge of a particular field such that they actually in many cases have lacked the inquisitiveness a beginner may have. A beginner comes into a field with the motive to make impacts and begin a new kind of beginning, while an expert though with this motive but may have been preoccupied because of the position they have attained. This can be seen as Professors of Universities have supervisees of which they supervise their work and in turn benefit from the contributions made by the supervisee. A professor once given a grant would surely need the contributions of beginners in the field such as Phd or Masters students who can make important contributions and would most likely not opt to work with another expert in the field. This is because the beginners are more likely to make more contributions than an expert, due to their inquisitiveness and the time they have unlike an expert.

As a further illustration, consider the story of the great mathematician Paul Erdos and the then child mathematician Terence Tao, who today have won the prestigious Fields Medal, the equivalent of Nobel Prize for mathematicians. Paul Erdos, though a renowned mathematician worked closedly with the 9 year old boy to make groundbreeaking contirbutions to the world of Mathematics. This ability to contribute more than experts has been undersstood by many experts in different fields, and thus they employ beginners to work with them so as to have significant contributions.

However, as many may argue otherwise that experts can contribute more due to their experience and knowledge. This actually can be debunked, since contributions to a field is not by mere experience but with the inquisitiveness to discover loop holes in a certain field, a quality known to be possessed by beginners.

Conclusively, I agree to the argument that beginners are likely to contribute more than experts because of the reasons given above.