The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing, stating that there have been 30 percent more on-the-job accident at the factory than a nearby Panoply Industries plant. However, the argument is not completely logically convincing, as there are some assumptions made which proves unwarranted.

First, the vice president assumes that since the Panoply has work shift one hour shorter than Quiot, then this may be a reason for their less on-the-job accident. However this may not be true as there are no stated fact from Panoply included in the argument that their one hour shorter work shift has led to the less on-the-job accident. What if Panoply has incorporated some safety tools to prevent accidents on the job during the past year?. This way, the work shift has no correspondence with the lesser on-the-job accidents, rather due to the safety tools.

Second, the argument assumes that sleep deprivation may be a cause for the higher accidents on the job. In contrast, this may not be true as other factors may be included, such as lack of safety materials, or more accident prone job than the Panoply plant. Thus shortening each of the three weeks shifts would not reduce the on-the-job accidents.

Lastly, the argument assumes that shortening each of the 3 weeks shift would let the workers have more sleep and in turn reduce the on-the-accidents in the factory. But what if this results in shortage of employees at the factory at a particular time. This would rather increase the workload on the employees, make them more stress as they have more work to do, and in all increase the number of on-the-job accidents initially proposed to reduce.

Conclusively, the argument is not in all logically convincing as the assumptions do not answer the questions raised above. Ultimately, the argument may be improved if it included that the lesser time shift at Panoply is a cause for their less on-the-job accidents, if sleep deprivation is really the cause of the increased accidents or other factors, or perhaps the one hour added to each three weeks shifts would surely reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing.