Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Access to education is always one of the major priority of most governments, as we have seen that the development of a country and the world at large is a factor of education, just as it is said that ''EDUCATION IS THE PATH T0 INDUSTRALIZATION". However, many government are faced with the question of whether make education free or not,as there both advantages and disadvantages to both. THus, in my own view, I believe it is best that government should offer education free of charge to all students of colleges and universities, as the benefits or advantages greatly outweighs the disadvantages.

WHile some may argue that making college or university education free of charge to all students would be waste of vital resources and hard-earned tax of citizens, on unserious students and some argue that education is not a primary and basic need, as their are many hungry and homeless people out there which the government should use the budget for free education on.

However, concerning the position of those who believe education should not be made free to college or university students because of the unserious students. It is clear that at the university or college level , many students are past adolescent age and could choose their future path, as this is glariing from the point they chose their course of study. Since students at this stage know what exactly they want, it is hardly and relatively rare to see students unserious about their studies. Besides, we can see from the likes of Mack Zukerberg, Bill GAtes who left the University when they knew that they had a different path in their lives endeavor. This way, the government is in no way spending on any unserious students, rather they are given the students the oppurtunity to find their own path to lives success.

Also, saying that education is not a basic need is wrong, as itself is a pathway to success which in turn not only save people and their progenies from future poverties, but also greatly improves the countries infrastructure and development. Since advances in cience and technology can only be achieved through education. This can best be described from the story of Nigeria's Nobel prize winner for literature, professor wole soyinka, who lived in a farm with his family but was oppurtuned tp attend school through the free education scheme by the then government of Obafemi Awolowo. Through this, Soyinka got a scholarship for his colleges studies in Oxford university when he discovered his brilliancy, and today he is among the most respected in the field of literature. Imagine if there was no free of charge education? Then he would not have made his great contributions which increased the countries fame of being called the giant of africa, and to the world of literature. In fact, he may have ended up being a farmer till death. Hence, a refutation for those claiming education is not a basic need.

Conclusively, I opine that government should make education free of charge to ocllege and university students, as =proved abob=ve