A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The arguments states the therapeutic effects of consuming Salicylates, the headaches suffered by the residents of Mantia and thus predicted that since there will be increase in Salicylates consumption, then the residents of Mentia would suffer fewer headaches in the future. The arguments is however not logically convincing since it ignores some certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument states that Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as Aspirin, which is a medicine used for the treatment of headaches. In contrast, the author only states that salicylates have therapeutic effects and does not delineate on whether it also cures headaches. Since it can be a chemical family of aspirin and not have the same health benefits as it, and so on.

Secondly, the arguments assumes that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates may have in turn led to the steady decline in the average number of headaches reported. But failed to explain if the increased use of salicylates may have caused this. What if aspirin has also been used during this period where salicylates have increased? Then the decline in average number of headaches reported amy have not been from the increased use of salicylates.

Additionally, the argument stated that from the study concluded on the increased implementation of salicylates, then their is a prediction that the residents of Mentia would suffer less headaches in the future. However, the author fails to tell if this food-processing companies are present in Mentia. Besides what if the people of Mentia have no access to the products of this food-processing companies. Then this outrightly debunks the prediction made by the argument, and they might be no reduction in average number of headaches experienced in Mentia.

In short, the argument is not completely sound since it fails to address the assumptions raised above. Ultimately, the argument would have been strengthened if the author could provide proof that the salicylate also cures headaches, if the increase in the consumption of salicylates is the actual cause for the reduction of the average number of headaches reported, and also, if the peole of Mentia actually have access to the products of the food-processing companies that have decided to include salicylates in their products.