The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This world consist of a lot of luxuries of which one would not be able to enjoy all eben till death. There is a collosus of luxuries everywhere of which people have began to notice the effect it has on we feeble humans. The question posited by many is also that does the luxuries and conveniences of this contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals? However, in my opinion I feel that though this luxuries and conveniences developing and build we humans into what we will be in the future , it does not prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

It is a common belief that children of the rich who are at the forefront of the exposure to the the conveniences and luxuries of life, are rude, spoilt, rash and many times profligates. This belief tend to make people assume assert that the luxuries of life prevents people from developing into strong and independent indivduals. However, this has also being proved wrong from history, as those who enjoy the conveniences and luxuries of this life ended up becoming strong and independent individuals, contributing to the development of the world and in fact changing the history of time. As an illustration, Alexander the great of the greeks who was born with a silver spoon, he has access to all the exposure to the world and even became the king at very young age. If it were that the luxuries of this life prevents fromo beinginidependent, Alexander the great would have ended up to become a craven king who lives at the mercy of his advisors. However,this was not the case as he ended up conquering more than one-fourth of the earth and changing the history of time. Thus very strong and independent.

Similarly, the likes of Ojukwu of the eastern Nigeria, who changed the history of Nigeria has proved the argument wrong. In fact, he was so strong and independent that he took the burden of the entire eastern Nigeria to himself which even led to the brutal Nigerian civil war. Being born to the richest trader in Nigeria then,and studying at Oxford, being exposed to much wealth and luxury as the only son, did not prevent him from being strong and independent. And today even after his death he is praised for his bravery, depicting strength and independence.

In conclusion, I agree that though luxuries of the world might affect an individual in one way or the other, it however does not prevent one from being strong and independent. As we have seen from history of great men and women even though they were exposed to such luxries.