The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article asserts that the approach used by Dr. Karp and the conclusion he reached are invalid, a claim is premised on information gathered from interaction with children who are residents of the island of Tertia. However, the argument on relies on three assumptions that are unwarranted and make the conclusion flawed.

First of all, Dr. Field's conclusion based on the work conducted two decades ago may have been correct as at that date. There is huge time difference between the work of Dr. Field and that of Dr. Karp. This time difference could be enough to make the situations incomparable and hence limit the ability of Dr. Karp to make an accurate and definitive evaluation of his fellow anthropologist's approach. Tertia's customs and traditions may have changed in the intervening period or a new generation of inhabitants may have emerged. Therefore, if there have been significant changes in the practices or demographics or populace of Tertia and the other islands, then it weakens the argument that Dr. Field's approach and proposition is invalid.

Secondly, the current method is based on information derived from listening to children in those islands. These children may be not be accurate in presenting information depending on their actual age, level of development or intelligence of the interviewee as well as the conditions existing during the interviews. For example, if the child was hungry or not willingly to participate due to fear or unfamiliarity with the interviewers or simply interest in other activities such as his or her regular play routines, the child's responses may be unrealiable. Furthermore, the views of only the children interviewed may not be a fair representation of the views of most or all of the children in that location. For instance, maybe only five children were available during the interview sessions whereas Tertia has over two hundred children. If the information obtained through the interview-centred approach are not actually correct, then the conclusion based on this premises becomes less convincing.

Moreover, even if Dr. Field's obervation-centred approach and conclusion about the Tertian people are both invalid, it may be argued that the Dr. Karp's approach may not necessarily provide better results. For example, there seems to be no evidence that Dr. Karp's method is particularly suited for studying the peoples' of Tertia or other island cultures and hence would provide the requisite understanding as asserted. It may be possible that a new method or approach - that includes living with the people for an extended period of time or (first) learning their language - is required to really know the Tertians and accurately present their traditions. In conclusion, the argument appears unsound based on the assumptions discussed above and hence, the author needs to present further evidence to make claim more persuasive.