Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In most Western democracies, such as those of the United States, United Kingdom and Canada, several basic rights are enshrined in the statues of such nations and form the basis of living in such places. One of such rights is the right to education. It is imperative, therefore, that education should address the needs of the persons being educated. Hence, I mostly agree with the proposition that a student's interests or preferences should be considered in the planning of course curriculla based on the following two reasons, although I concede that educators can exercise judgement as to how much influence such preferences have on the finalized contents of courses.

Firstly, education is enhanced when the student is attracted to items being taught. Such attraction can be best achieved if the student's concerns were given attention, in the first place, during the design of the syllabus. For example, a curricullum which does not provide ample for time for play as part of learning for children less than 7 years old may inhibit the development of such young persons. At that age, the children are still discovering their immediate environment and thus require more time to freely explore this interest by themselves instead being coached via theories. Furthermore, education requires the engagement and interaction between the teacher and pupil in order for learning and transfer of knowledge to take place. Hence, if the preferences of the person being taught are factored into the design the design of the courses, then education is enhanced because the pupil would readily find contents to be applicable or relevant to him or her. For instance, a student interested in learning about fixing vehicle engines would rightly value contents that focus on diagnostics and hands-on repair of such engines instead of a generic course in engineering. Student engagement and interest enables education actually edify the student instead of just been a routine.

Secondly, considering the students' interest enables teachers to better understand their students and hence engender better communication and trust in the teacher-student relationship. This is imperative considering the growing trend of teachers in some parts of the world reporting that students are no longer interested in their studies. An often over-looked fact is that maybe the course content has remained unchanged for decades in an ever-changing dynamic world. For example, in several West African countries, the syllabus for the secondary school education has hardly been reviewed for many years. Hence, it possible for one to re-cycle learning materials including text-books and notes (containing content long considered obsolete in developed economies) for current studies in those countries. A pragmatic approach would be to re-consider the curriculla in the light of contemporary realities such the impact of the digital age and more recently social media on students and learning. Educators who comprehend the attitudes, motivations and passion of the student and reflect these in the course content are better equipped to deliver quality teaching.

However, it can be argued that usually a teacher was once a student and, should from experience, inherently know what is best for his or her student without needing to review their interests. Besides, a student's prefernce may not be ultimately beneficial to such individual or the society at large. For example, should courses that include content related to some genre of music (associated with vices such as drug use and violence) be taught in schools because students have indicated interest in exploring such music? Ofcourse not. Nevertheless, a teacher should not assume an all-knowing stance in the design of courses as learning is consdiered a life-long endeavour and hence even the tutor should be open to learning about the student - irrespective of age, grade or status - in order ensure that aims of education such as the improvement of the mind and character of the pupil are achieved.

In conclusion, the interests of students' should be factored into the design and planning of educational curriculla in order to yield better learning outcomes and products but the educators should counsel against preferences that would be detrimental to the student.