The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The director asserts that Super Screen should allot a higher fraction of its next year's budget to advertising based on evidence described in the memo. However, a careful look at the details in the memo reveals that there are several questions that need to be addressed in order to assess the logic of the recommendation and the argument.

Firstly, will the trend of less attendence at Super Screen-produced movies continue into the next year? Granted that the memo stated there were fewer persons in the past year than in anyother year, but there apperas to be no evidence to support that this trend will be sustained in the future. Increasing the budgetary allocation for advertising should be premised on undisputable evidence and hence the above question needs to be considered and answered.

Secondly, what is the feedback/review on Super Screen movies in general (rather than just particular/specific movies)? Furthermore, what is number of persons who responded to review and the total number of attendees? Answers to these questions would provide a more wholistic assessment of the the public perception of the company's movies. The advertising increment is not targeted at specific movies and hence making decisions based on feedback on certain movies maybe wrong. In addition, knowing the number of reviewers and attendees could enable a better judgement of the reliability of the reviews as a basis for increasing the budget for advertising.

Thirdly, how does the director know the public is unaware of the company's offerrings? Is this belief supported by any detailed study or survey by Super Screen? Moreover, is there any data that shows that spending more money (beyond the current allocation) on publicity increases movie viewership? The firm needs to deliberately ponder over the above questions and seek unbiased information. Furthermore, would increasing the budget for advertising not impact other aspects of the budget e.g. research and development, staff costs etc? Can the company afford further spending? Addressing these questions would enable the firm decide a course of action that will be beneficial for Super Screen.

In conclusion, the argument of the director appears inherently flawed. Responding to the above questions could help make a proper evaluation of the argument (conclusion).