There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument asserts that people seeking longetivity and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities instead of living in big cities. In making this proposition, the author presents pieces of evidence such as less days of sick leave, fewer doctors per residents and higher average age of people in Leeville (a small town) compared those to Masonton (a big city). However, these premises rely on assumptions which make the argument less persuasive and three of these assumptions will be reviewed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the author assumes that the businesses reporting these cases are representative of the entire enterprises in Leeville and Masonton. There may be more businesses or firms whose statistics of leave were unreported for reasons such as inability or unavailability to participate in the reporting or simply lack of interest of the reporting such data - an activity that may be pereceived as not directly related to corporate interests. If the number unreported cases of days of sick leave in Leeville is far more than the reported cases or equals the number of reported cases in Masonton, then this argument is less convincing.

Secondly, the prompt presumes that comparing the ratio of doctors or physicians per thousand of persons in two locations indicates the relative health status of the respective populace. This assumption precludes other factors that could account for such ratio in the first place. For example, the number of doctors in Leeville may be based on the availability of such personnel i.e. there is only doctor resident in or living within reasonable radius of commute to Leeville whereas the town actually requires as many as twenty physicians. Besides, there is no evidence that all physicians in Masonton are still in active service and are catering to the health needs of the residents. The count may include long retired doctors who decided to settle in the big city for the rest of their life. If it is proven that number of doctors required in Leeville is more than the number of available available or that the doctors in Masonton are mostly retired personnel, then argument becomes faulted and unsound.

Thirdly, the average age of residents is used as a metric for the life expectancy and state of health of the people in two places. However, this metric is inherently flawed because an average age is just the result of a computation of ages. The average or mean age could be high where there are considerably more older people in a location even though most of those aged persons are in poor state of health. Similarly, a lower average age may be obtained from a population with more young people who, though are very healthy, engage in risky endeavours which increases mortality rates. Thus, this third piece of evidence is susceptible to various contending explanations which may make it inadequate to support the conclusion and hence logic of the argument is adversely impacted.

In conclusion, the argument appears flawed because it is supported by unwarranted assumptions. Further evidence such as comprehensive data from thorough research or studies is required to properly evaluate the argument and make the conclusion valid.