The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument asserts that there is a call for the polity to try to decrease the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that focuses on other factors (apart from the use of helmet) that are necessary for cycling safely. This asserion is premised on the results of studies covering a ten-year period. However, to evaluate the argument, specific evidence are required, three of which are discussed in the following paragraphs.

First of all, there is need to present evidence that demonstrates that the conditions that existed ten years ago are also existing or applicable now. There may have changes in number of the bicyclists during the intervening period such that the actual number of persons reporting the results may have also changed in way that undermines the argument. For example, 35% of 1000 bicyclists tens years ago compared to 80% of 100 bicyclists today implies a comparision between 350 people and 80 persons. This case may make the argument less persuasive. In addition, evidence is required to assess the accuracy of the report from the bicyclists. Such evidence should show that the cyclists were not lying and hence the data obtained from them is reliable. If this is the case, the argument may become more sound. Where such evidence is lacking or reveals that the bicyclists' report is inaccurate, then the argument may become compromised.

Secondly, there is need to present evidence that shows the 200 percent increase in bicycling accidents is significant in terms of actual accident count. For example, if the number of accidents was 5 ten years ago, a 200 percent increase to 15 today or an increase of 10 accidents in ten years may not considered important. Whereas, if there were a 100 accidents ten years ago, then a 200 percent increase now may be of concern. Furthermore, it is desirable to have evidence that compares the number of bicycle accidents to the total population of bicyclists. Such evidence would enable an assessment of the incidence of accidents and hence enable one form a more informed opinion on the persuasiveness of the argument per the premise of increased accidents.

Thirdly, evidence is required to support the statement that wearing helmets make cyclists feel safer and hence take more risks. For example, it is possible that the use of helmet may have no considerable effect on the cyclists attitude or that wearing the helmets makes cyclists more careful when riding and unwilling to take risks. In essence, there is need for evidence that clearly delineates the factors responsible for the perceived increased in accidents in order to to be able properly evaluate the logic of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument at present, does not appear convincing. If the author can provide evidence such as those listed above, then further evaluation to determine it's persuasiveness can be performed.