Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education is a means of edifying a person. It can be undertaken in various forms; a common approach is studying at an institution of higher of learning such as a university. In selecting courses to study at a university, I mostly support with the proposition that students should be made to take several other courses apart from courses in their specific discipline. I support this view based on two reasons, although I concede that there could be situations were it is advantageous to confine the selection of courses to just the student's field of study.

First of all, making students do a plethora of courses exposures them to other methods, perspectives, thoughts and viewpoints which enhances the overall learning experience. For example, a student majoring in chemical engineering should not have his/her studies limited only to engineeering coursework. Rather, other courses such as business courses should be included in the curriculla. This would enable the student relate his or her training as an engineer to it's impact or relationship with businesses considering that engineering hardly exists in isolation from other disciplines in daily life. An engineer could work in a firm as an employee or set-up a venture as an entrepreneur and hence a fundamental appreciation of enterprise is valuable. Another example is the taking of language courses by a student majoring in mathematics. This enables the person understand and appreciate other cultures, beliefs and perspectives which, in turn, enhances interaction with other people and integration into other climes. Afterall, it is possible that when the student graduates from school, the additional language or languages learnt can help him or her secure a desired job as a mathematician in a foreign country. Thus, the requirement that students take extra courses during their studies does serve to enhance their education and prepare them for the future.

Secondly, it affords students the opportunity to reconfirm their interest in their selected field of study vis-a-vis other disciplines. It is not uncommon for a student to initially start undergraduate studies in a certain area, for instance statistics, but later change to another discipline such a policial science because taking other requisite courses outside the scope of statistics enabled the student clarify his or her preferences and abilities. In essence, the student discovered himself or herself whilst doing those extra courses and from thence made a better informed decision on the field of study to pursue. This would likely optimize the student's academic performance and lead to a more fulfilling career.

However, it maybe necessary to restrict the selection of courses to the student's field of study in cases where the area of study is extremely demanding, highly specialized and very expensive such that the studies are funded by an external party such as government or other organizations for specific aims. Thus, focusing on the courses in the specific field of study would be prudent for judicious use of the funds and the dedication of time and effort to that particular field in order to acheive the desired objectives. Another situation could be in certain situations when the resources of an educational institution are limited. These resources include the adequate manpower or personnel to take the various combinations of courses or facilities to accomodate such learning demands especially in institutions with high student population. Nevertheless, the above cases or situations are not expected to be common and hence I mostly align with the stance that students should be mandated to take courses beyond their field of study.